The Customs and Excise Division of the Department is responsible for the assessment and collection of customs and excise duties as well as sales and excise taxes, by ports and outports. The Taxation Division is responsible for the assessment and collection of income taxes and succession duties by 29 district offices throughout Canada.

The Minister of National Revenue is responsible to Parliament for the Income Tax Appeal Board and also reports to Parliament for the Canadian Broadcasting Corporation.

Department of Northern Affairs and National Resources.—The Department of Northern Affairs and National Resources was established in December 1953, superseding the Department of Resources and Development. In addition to Administration Services, which performs auxiliary functions, the Department is divided into seven branches: the National Parks Branch administers the National Parks and National Historic Parks of Canada, National Historic Sites, and wildlife matters coming within the jurisdiction of the Federal Government; the Water Resources Branch is responsible for the investigation of water power resources, for the administration of federal assistance to the provinces under the Canada Water Conservation Assistance Act and for federal interests in certain joint federal-provincial construction projects; the Northern Administration and Lands Branch is responsible for the administration of various federal Acts, Territorial ordinances and regulations pertaining to the government of the Northwest Territories, for the conduct of certain business arising from the general administration of the Yukon Territory, for the administration of natural resources in those Territories, and for Eskimo affairs, as well as for certain lands and mineral rights in the provinces vested in the Crown in the right of Canada; the Forestry Branch conducts investigations in the protection and utilization of the forest resources of Canada, maintains forest experiment stations and forest products laboratories and administras federal assistance to the provinces under the Canada Forestry Act; the Natural History Branch and Human History Branch of the National Museum of Canada are responsible for research, publication of scientific studies, and public exhibitions in their respective fields of natural history and human history; and the Canadian Government Travel Bureau promotes the tourist industry by encouraging tourist travel in Canada.

The Minister of Northern Affairs and National Resources is also responsible to Parliament for the Eastern Rockies Forest Conservation Board, the Northern Canada Power Commission, and the National Battlefields Commission. The Historic Sites and Monuments Board of Canada, an honorary body of recognized historians representing the various provinces, and the Advisory Board on Wildlife Protection act in an advisory capacity to the Minister in those fields. The Deputy

Minister is Commissioner of the Northwest Territories.

Post Office Department.—Administration and operation of the Canada Post Office, by virtue of the Post Office Act (R.S.C. 1952, c. 212) and under the Postmaster General, includes all phases of postal activity, personnel, mail handling, postal accommodation, transportation of mails by land, water, rail and air and the direction and control of financial services including the operation of money order and savings bank business.

Public Archives.—The Public Archives was founded in 1872 and is administered under the Public Archives Act (R.S.C. 1952, c. 222) by the Dominion Archivist who has the rank of a Deputy Minister and reports to Parliament through the Minister of Citizenship and Immigration. Its purpose is to assemble and make available to the public a comprehensive collection of historical source material relating to the history of Canada. Major emphasis is placed on official records of the Government and the personal papers of political leaders and other prominent figures. These are supplemented by copies of many records in the British and French archives that relate to Canada, a fine map collection, a historical library, and many prints, paintings and photographs.

Department of Public Printing and Stationery.—This Department was established in

1886 and is in the charge of the Queen's Printer and Controller of Stationery.

The Department is responsible for supplying all requirements of printing and stationery to Parliament and Departments of the Canadian Government; the cataloguing, distribution and sale of government publications; the publication of the Canada Gazette, and all departmental reports, papers, etc., required to be published by authority of the Governor General in Council (R.S.C. 1952, c. 226) and the publication of the Statutes of Canada (R.S.C. 1952, c. 230).

The Department of Public Printing and Stationery is under the jurisdiction of the Secretary

of State.

Department of Public Works.—This Department was constituted in 1867 and operates under the legislative authority of the Public Works Act and other Acts of Parliament. It is responsible for the management and direction of the public works of Canada and, except as specifically provided in other Acts, attends to the construction and maintenance of public buildings, wharves, piers, roads and bridges and the undertaking of dredging and navigable waters protection work. The Department maintains District Offices at key points across the country. The main operating Branches of the Department with headquarters in Ottawa are Harbours and Rivers Engineering, Building Construction, Development Engineering, Property and Building Management, and Purchasing and Stores. In addition, the Fire Prevention Branch, organized in 1919 and now a part of the Department of Public Works, maintains fire-loss records, makes inspections, reports on fire protection legislation and protection methods and endeavours to extend and co-ordinate fire prevention work in Canada. Federal interests in the Trans-Canada Highway are also handled by the Department.